Photoshop Elements Error message Plugin missing

flatbed scanners for Canon

Harriflex
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Scanner: Canon 9000f
SilverFast Product: SE

Photoshop Elements Error message Plugin missing

Postby Harriflex » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:47 pm

I am getting the Error message when starting Photoshop Elements V9 on my Macbook running Lion 10.8. System Information confirms " Silverfast 8x64 No Version - Silverfast 8x64. framework installed Twain devices . NONE"

Also, when attempting to Import the Silverfast into PE after batch scanning 35mm slides, whilst they are saved direct into a folder, PE then just hangs and has to be Force Quit. The saved files then have to be loaded individually.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Photoshop Elements Error message Plugin missing

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:27 pm

SilverFast 8 offers a Photoshop Bridge module for import.
However Elements 9 is still a 32 bit software and you might have to start SilverFast in 32 bit mode to be accessible.

If Photoshop crashes when you try to load a lot of images it is probably running low on memory.
But you will have to contact the Adobe support if you have questions about Photoshop Elements.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Harriflex
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Scanner: Canon 9000f
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Photoshop Elements Error message Plugin missing

Postby Harriflex » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:23 pm

Dear Arne

Since installing Silverfast 8, every time I now start up Photoshop Elements V9, I get the following warning message! " One or more Plug-ins are currently not available on your system. For details, see Help> System info." The Silverfast error message (as posted) then appears. Are you suggesting that this is an Adobe fault rather than SilverFasts responsibility?

MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion V10.8.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Photoshop Elements Error message Plugin missing

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:14 am

Dear customer,

This is not really an error.
The 32 Bit Elements simply can not load SilverFast running in 64 bit.
You can change SilverFast so it starts in 32 bit mode if you need to import.
But that can slow down SilverFast and I would rather suggest running it stand alone.

The crash while loading multiple files is also not a "bug" in Photoshop.
This is probably due to Photoshop trying to acquire more memory than available.
Even small images require a lot of memory in Photoshop, because Photoshop loads the complete uncompressed bitmap.
This can require considerably more memory (up to ten times and more) than the file takes up on the hard disk.

kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.


Return to “Canon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest