Canon and Win 7 64bit

flatbed scanners for Canon

mikemud
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:08 pm
Scanner: Canon 8400F

Canon and Win 7 64bit

Postby mikemud » Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:19 pm

I have a Canon 8400F and just upgraded to Widows 7 64 bit for the obvious benefits.
Canon will only allow installation of 64 bit (it refuses to install 32 bit) drivers under a WIN 7 64 bit environment even though many 32 bit programs operate on WIN 7 x64 in parallel. So I cannot yet use the SilverFast software until you release a 64 bit version. Have you any ETA of when SilverFast will upgrade to 64 bit.
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4283
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Canon and Win 7 64bit

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:38 am

Dear mikemud,

SilverFast does operate in Windows 64bit operating systems.

Unfortunately the available drivers currently do not allow access to the scanner in the way we need it.
On the scanners SilverFast webpage a RSS feed is available which will inform you as soon as this changes.
http://www.silverfast.com/product/Canon/497/en.html

kind regards
Arne Ketelhohn

Bernard46
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:17 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7600i
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: Canon and Win 7 64bit

Postby Bernard46 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:51 pm

As well as a Plustek scanner I have a Canon Lide 25, a basic flat bed scanner. This scanner works with Canon Toolbox on Win 7 64 bit. I have Silverfast UScan-SE. I cannot get this software to recognize the Lide25, but the Canoscan software has no problem. Does anyone know whether I should be able to use Silverfast with it or if not, why not? Thanks.
Bernard

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Canon and Win 7 64bit

Postby LSI_Morales » Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:42 am

Dear Bernard

Actually SilverFast has been designed and programmed in modules to obtain the best out of every scanner. It means you are not able to use a second unit with one module, for a second scanner model you would need another SF module.
In this case the only issue is that the Canon LiDe 25 is not supported by SilverFast at all.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing


Return to “Canon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests