New PC + Agfa Arcus II

flatbed scanners for Agfa

rsfoto
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: México City
Contact:

New PC + Agfa Arcus II

Postby rsfoto » Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:09 pm

Hi,

I just boght a new PC and sfter installing the Silverfast Ai v6 my Scanner Agfa Arcus II does work with Silverscan without any problem.

But there is a problem and maybe somebody can help me.

I have WIN XP Pro Sp1 and every time I power ON the scanner WIN XP Pro wants to install the Arcus II but can not install it because WIN XP Pro does not find the driver and the I have 8 times the scanner in the Hardware wih an exclamation mark.

Can somebody give me a tip how to get WIN XP Pro to recognize that scanner ?

Thanks in Advance

regards Rainer
Rainer Ehlert
RS Fotografia

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:48 am

Dear Rainer

the reason behind this behavior our Windows is that Agfa didn't deliver device information to Microsoft and thus Windows detects an "unknown" device.
If scanner and SCSI controller card are capable of using the multiple LUN (logical unit number) feature this might happen up to eight times.

Simply go ahead with the MS Windows hardware assistant which - though it will fail to install the device (no .inf file => no drivers associated) - will list the scanner (up to eight times, see above) as an unknown device into the Windows device manager.

After that procedure, you're done for good and Windows won't bug you any further.

That Windows doesn't know what this device is doesn't need to bother you. Being a SCSI device, the scanner is 'intelligent' enough to recognize and work with commands being sent to it and will work without hassle.
It is a mere aesthetical problem in the Windows device manager's listing.

Of greater importance is that the correct set of ASPI layer drivers are installed so that SCSI communication does work properly.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

rsfoto
SilverFast Beginner
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: México City
Contact:

Postby rsfoto » Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:09 pm

Hi Sonny,

Thank you for the answer.

Yes the Arcus II works perfectly together with Silverfast as Standaloone or as Photoshop CS2 Plugin.
Rainer Ehlert

RS Fotografia


Return to “Agfa”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests