Page 1 of 1

Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:46 am
by rstilson
Using a Plustek 7500i, on a Mac, with the latest Silverfast AE Plus software. If I scan using the HDR settings, my image comes out as a negative. If I use 48-24 bit color or 16-8 bit grayscale they come out as positive. I have tried clearing the preferences and that does not solve the problem. I have checked and double checked my settings. Also, triple checked. Confused.

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:12 pm
by LSI_Moeller
Dear customer,

that is not a problem, that is normal. When you make a scan in HDR, the image will be a copy of the film in the scanner without manipulation.

Best regards,
Artur Möller

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:49 am
by rstilson
I see. Thankyou

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:19 am
by LSI_Morales
Cheers

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:00 pm
by hawg427
I read the last users post about his negatives looking like negatives. I am having trouble getting the drop down menu where you tell Silverfish what you are scanning, a Neg, a print, a slide to be able to click on anything other than Reflective or "Print" I see the Negative & slide but it won't let me click on it. Even if I try and use the regular Epson software it only thinks I have a hard copy photo in the scanner to copy. I have reloaded the Silverfast 8 SE Plus Three times so far and I am getting the same results. I'll give it until Friday then I'm afraid the scanner & everything goes back to B&H. I really want this to work :-)

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:01 pm
by LSI_Ketelhohn
Dear customer,

Your scanner has lost it's connection to the transparency unit in the lid.
Please shut down SilverFast and the scanner. Then unplug and re-plug the cable connecting the transparency unit in the lid to the chassis of the scanner. Afterwards restart SilverFast and the transparency mode should be available again. If not please check if EPSON Scan Utility still can scan in transparency mode.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Sun May 15, 2016 4:57 pm
by mrdavidcolin
i see previous posts relating to this...using v850 epson and SEPlus silverffast...cannot use 'negative'..i have restarted, unplugged the plug between scanner and body and re attached but it still does work....do ihae to upgrade to get this feature??? I don't want to , but..
thanks

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:04 am
by LSI_Ketelhohn
Dear user,

Have you checked if the transparency scan works in the EPSON Scan software?
If not you probably will have to contact the EPSON hardware support.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:33 pm
by RicardoKump
I having the same issue here, but only in Silverfast. Epson software is scanning positives and negatives, but in Silverfast I can only scan positives, Cannot click on the other options, the software won't let me.

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:15 pm
by LSI_Ketelhohn
Dear user,

have you made sure SilverFast is set to transparency? If the button to the left of the positive/negative button is set to reflective you can only scan in positive mode.


Kind regards,
Arne