scanning trannies - newbie question

flatbed scanners for Umax

lister
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:33 am

scanning trannies - newbie question

Postby lister » Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:31 pm

I have a UMAX PowerLook 1000 scanner with the silverfast AI Software from within Photoshop CS (Mac Laptop).

The problem is for some reason I cant seem to find the Silverfast AI/General Pane/ORIGINAL BUTTON to change to reflection? Beacuse I need to scan some trannies and at the moment the setting must be on standard scanning. I seem to have in genral tab

Device: FireWire
Scan Mode: Normal
Pos./Neg: Positive
Frame-Set: Save

But no original option to choose between reflection etc...

Please help, am I missing something obvious??
L I S T E R

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:37 pm

Dear Lister

while starting up, SilverFast asks the scanner about its properties.
If the scanner doesn't tell SilverFast it has a transparency unit, SilverFast won't show up the dropdown option to select between reflective and transparency mode on the general tab of the main dialogue.

The reason usually is that there's some issue with the cable between the MTU and the scanner itself. Please try to
- close SilverFast
- turn off scanner
- disconnect MTU cable from scanner
- reconnect MTU cable to scanner
- turn on scanner and wait until its self-initialisation ran through
- start SilverFast again
- look if option is now present

If you continue to have the problem, please consider that there may be a hardware defect with the cable or the MTU itself.

You might want to cross-check if you can use the MTU with another scanning software programme. If this also fails, contact your dealer or scanner manufacturer for RMA if the hardware still has servicing guarantee.

Please note that with some scanners SilverFast doesn't support the MTU altogether. You will find your scanner's details on our website (www.silverfast.com) > Support > Supported scanners.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- manager tech support, LSI AG -

P.S. Please refrain from cross- and multiple-posting.
TIA for your kind understanding =)

User avatar
RAG
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:59 am
Location: Sonoma County, California

Postby RAG » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:44 pm

lister,

I have a couple of questions for you.

Has this ever worked for you in the past, and out of curiosity, are you able to change "Pos./Neg:" from Positive to Negative?
Member in good standing - NAPP
A picture is worth a thousand words! :-)

lister
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:33 am

to be honest

Postby lister » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:02 pm

to be honest, i havnt ever done any film scanning using this setup. The originals have always been paper etc. Never trannies.

The postive/negative menu is there.If i leave it on positve and scan the trannies they look very dark. I can switck to negative a window pops up with various neg settings.

I have turned all off, rebooted everything.
Tried downloading the software again and reloading.
then downloaded SFE-6.4.3r8(UmaxSDKIT8) and installed that.

But for some reason I cant seem to see the original/relective Tab.
Even if I look at the quicktime movie suplied with the software from within the general tab the Original/Reflective is missing, but the instruction manuals show this tab...whats going on!

any ideas
L I S T E R


Return to “UMAX”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests