Does the PIE 3650U Work?

All the problems with PIE film scanners only

phroggie
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 12:58 am
Scanner: Pacific 3650u
SilverFast Product: SE

Does the PIE 3650U Work?

Postby phroggie » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:48 am

I'm using Mac OS X 10.11.

Silverfast seems to be doing the same as CyberViewX: when I try to scan, it just sits there "calibrating".

I'm I correct in assuming that Silverfast uses the same PIE Twain Data Source CyberViewX uses?

Am I also correct in assuming that it stopped working and until PIE updates it, Silverfast won't work either?

Peace.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4142
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Does the PIE 3650U Work?

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:11 am

Dear customer,

Please make sure your scanner has the latest firmware installed.
The behaviour is typical for an outdated firmware version.
The firmware (a 64 kb .bin file) can be downloaded from the manufacturer's website and transferred to the device through the CyberView Help menu.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

KnoxTom
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:32 am
Scanner: Pacific Image Electronics PF3650u

Re: Does the PIE 3650U Work?

Postby KnoxTom » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:38 am

I may have just wasted both time and money buying a used PIE PF3650u scanner (eBay). It's no big surprise but disappointing that PIE no longer supports this product. I am pretty sure that the communication problem between my iMac (OS-X) and this scanner is the firmware- and I am in search of confirmation that indeed, this is little hope of a firmware update. Any help, suggestions or assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thank you- Tom Lanik, East Tennessee


Return to “PIE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest