Negatives scanning as negatives?

Problems with OSX 10.x

Moderator: LSI_Moeller


rstilson
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:30 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7500i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby rstilson » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:46 am

Using a Plustek 7500i, on a Mac, with the latest Silverfast AE Plus software. If I scan using the HDR settings, my image comes out as a negative. If I use 48-24 bit color or 16-8 bit grayscale they come out as positive. I have tried clearing the preferences and that does not solve the problem. I have checked and double checked my settings. Also, triple checked. Confused.

LSI_Moeller
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:02 am

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby LSI_Moeller » Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:12 pm

Dear customer,

that is not a problem, that is normal. When you make a scan in HDR, the image will be a copy of the film in the scanner without manipulation.

Best regards,
Artur Möller

rstilson
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:30 pm
Scanner: Plustek 7500i
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby rstilson » Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:49 am

I see. Thankyou

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby LSI_Morales » Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:19 am

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

hawg427
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:08 am
Scanner: Epson Perfection V850Pro
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby hawg427 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:00 pm

I read the last users post about his negatives looking like negatives. I am having trouble getting the drop down menu where you tell Silverfish what you are scanning, a Neg, a print, a slide to be able to click on anything other than Reflective or "Print" I see the Negative & slide but it won't let me click on it. Even if I try and use the regular Epson software it only thinks I have a hard copy photo in the scanner to copy. I have reloaded the Silverfast 8 SE Plus Three times so far and I am getting the same results. I'll give it until Friday then I'm afraid the scanner & everything goes back to B&H. I really want this to work :-)

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4082
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:01 pm

Dear customer,

Your scanner has lost it's connection to the transparency unit in the lid.
Please shut down SilverFast and the scanner. Then unplug and re-plug the cable connecting the transparency unit in the lid to the chassis of the scanner. Afterwards restart SilverFast and the transparency mode should be available again. If not please check if EPSON Scan Utility still can scan in transparency mode.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

mrdavidcolin
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 4:53 pm
Scanner: v850
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby mrdavidcolin » Sun May 15, 2016 4:57 pm

i see previous posts relating to this...using v850 epson and SEPlus silverffast...cannot use 'negative'..i have restarted, unplugged the plug between scanner and body and re attached but it still does work....do ihae to upgrade to get this feature??? I don't want to , but..
thanks

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4082
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon May 23, 2016 11:04 am

Dear user,

Have you checked if the transparency scan works in the EPSON Scan software?
If not you probably will have to contact the EPSON hardware support.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn

RicardoKump
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:29 pm
Scanner: Epson V850
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby RicardoKump » Mon Jun 05, 2017 6:33 pm

I having the same issue here, but only in Silverfast. Epson software is scanning positives and negatives, but in Silverfast I can only scan positives, Cannot click on the other options, the software won't let me.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4082
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Negatives scanning as negatives?

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:15 pm

Dear user,

have you made sure SilverFast is set to transparency? If the button to the left of the positive/negative button is set to reflective you can only scan in positive mode.


Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “OSX - Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest