Pnather 10.3.4, 2930, Silverfast Ai weirdness

Problems with Mac OS 10.3 (Panther)

Moderator: LSI_Luebker


terryj
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:08 pm

Pnather 10.3.4, 2930, Silverfast Ai weirdness

Postby terryj » Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:29 pm

Ok,
this is kind of long, but bare with me.

We have an linotype Heildeberg Ultra Saphir 2
scanner that worked great under OS 9.
It was connected to an Adaptec 2930 CU card.

We installed 10.3.4 panther on this machine,
and I downloaded on May 27th, 2004,
the demo version worked fine, and scanned
with no problem.

So I do some research before buying the Software,
by checking for latest drivers to the Adpatec card, and
when I input my serial number of the card into their website
( AHA-2930CU) there was no listed support for OS X.
So I input OSX, and the card that showed up was a 2930U.
So I bought one.

Well, here now I have OSX 10.3.4 running, with the 2930U card
installed, and Silverfast AI 6 software for linotype Ultra II
installed.

Checked System Profiler, under the SCSI listing, the Ultra II
is listed SIX times!

I launched the Silverfast application, and it finds the scanner.
I hit prescan and try to scan the cover of my Silverfast
packaging. It ( the lamp) on the scanner scans a complete pass
and comes back to return. The Silverfast AI shows the box cover in the preview window, but after it displays it, it goes into a spinning beachball,
and I cannot make it let go ( force quit) the application.
I have to hard reset the computer to get it operational again.

Could my problem be the new SCSI card?
or is there something in Silverfast that I installed wrong?

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:27 am

Dear terryj

this may or may not be something which has to do with SilverFast.
Please contact us via the problem report form (under "Support") and copy-paste your SF_Logfile into your request.

We will provide you with a test plugin to find out what might be the reason for this behaviour. Thanks in advance for your co-operation.

Kind regards,
Sonny Noack

terryj
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby terryj » Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:03 pm

Sonny,
will do!!
Thanks,
Terry

terryj
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby terryj » Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:05 pm

Sonny,
I sent in the log file.

Terry

User avatar
LSI_Noack
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Postby LSI_Noack » Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:59 am

Dear Terry

I got it, thanks. Will send you an email today.

Kind regards
Sonny

terryj
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby terryj » Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:36 pm

Sonny,
I had a problem with the Plug-in you sent me.
i sent you back an email with the log....
I never heard back?

I am also getting a new cable, because the one I have
going from the back of the Mac G4 to the Scanner,
the cable is a 25db Male to 50centronics Male,
and the 25db male has an Ultra SCSI II adapter on it
that seems to be loose. The new cable will be
an Ultra SCSI II to 50Centronics Male, and should seat
properly, which may make things better, i don't know.

Terry

terryj
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby terryj » Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:59 pm

Sonny,
got it to work.
New cable arrived today from Belkin,
with correct ends from card ( DB50MICRO) to back of scanner.
(50 MALE CENTRONICS)
Installed the cable, made sure it is
seated perfectly at both ends.
Did test scan in admin mode, worked great.
rebooted, logged in as end user
did test scan through Photoshop plug-in.
Worked great.

Scanner is fixed.
So my problem was partly the SCSI cable with the DB50Micro Adapter
I had originally I am guessing.

Thanks for you help!!


Return to “OSX - PANTHER Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest