Multi-Sampling on 120tf ...what's the deal?

All the problems with Microtek film scanners

SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:23 pm

Multi-Sampling on 120tf ...what's the deal?

Postby Nitrofunk » Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:47 pm

I've read that the latest AI Studio-version supports Multi-Sampling. But my 120tf does that already with earlier, Non-AI-Studio versions. What's the advantage of the upgrade?
I always avoided using Multisampling, since it gives me blurred scans (because of Misalignment). Did you resolve this problem with the Update?


User avatar
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 1:30 pm
Location: Kiel, Germany

Postby LSI_Noack » Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:19 am

Dear Peter

multi-sampling in the latest version is done by software. Therefore it can be used with every scanner supported by SilverFast.
Of course the earlier versions of SilverFast already supported multi-sampling when it had been a hardware feature of the scanner. So, for those possessing fine scanning hardware, nothing new. But for the "remainder"... great news.

The difference of both multi-sampling approaches is that with hardware multi-sampling you - as a software - already "know" what lines to compile after all sample scans have been done.
Whereas with software multi-sampling you need to calculate how the sample scans have to be overlayed before being able to compile the final scan result.

Multi-sampling should never make the resulting scan more unsharp than a single scan!
It even so increase the usability of unsharp masking tool because random pixel colour noise is being greatly reduced or even eliminated, thus giving the user greater ranges to vary the USM settings without producing artifacts.

If you receive unsharp scans with multi-sampling (compared to a single sampled scan), then either the images couldn't be overlayed corrected (with software multi-sampling) over the scanner itself has got a positioning problem and doesn't read the same line for the subsequent scan (which it is supposed to be able to with hardware multi-sampling).

Consider the first a software bug and don't hesitate to tell SilverFast support staff about it.
Consider the second (your case) a hardware problem. It may help to update the firmware and / or driver, but it may be a defect of the scanner, too.

Best regards
Sonny Noack
- Manager Technical Support, LaserSoft Imaging AG -

Return to “Microtek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest