HDR job manager renames files

SilverFast HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)

Faurean
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:05 pm
Scanner: Epson Perfection V700 Photo
SilverFast Product: HDR Studio

HDR job manager renames files

Postby Faurean » Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:09 pm

SF & HDR Studio 8.8 + Windows 10 running on a Sony Vaio VPCF1 portable.

My archived slides are (so far) grouped in folders corresponding to the original film rolls. The contents of the first folders have been heavily renamed, using a special software, until I could find a suitable name format.

VLT sees the archived files correctly named in the lower part of the screen. But when loading a set of group of image files into Job Manager, the names shown are from the original scan name! The renaming software (Advánced renamer) includes exiftool, which does not show any reference to the original names in the metadata.

Processing the renamed archive files therefore stores the results under the initial names.

For example, ABC renamed to XYZ shows up in job manager and the extract process as ABC !

Any suggestions to avoid this?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:25 pm

Dear customer,

Please check the SilverFast preferences' VLT tab.
There are two options for watching the folders for changes. Make sure they are active.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

User avatar
Jossie
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:39 pm
Scanner: Reflecta DigitDia 6000
SilverFast Product: Archive Suite
Location: im Kraichgau

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby Jossie » Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:29 pm

Please see also http://forum.silverfast.com/changing-the-filename-t12116.html.

When loading an image into HDR SF uses the file name as saved in the metadata (namespace XMP:silverfast) during the scan. This behaviour cannot be influenced with the VLT settings.

Hermann-Josef Röser

Faurean
SilverFast User
SilverFast User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:05 pm
Scanner: Epson Perfection V700 Photo
SilverFast Product: HDR Studio

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby Faurean » Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Unfortunately your suggestion did not help. I tried deselecting and selecting these (with shutdown and restart of HDR), without luck. Right-clicking (auxiliary click) thumbnails and selecting transfer to Job Manager produced the same behaviour.

I also tried renaming files in Windows and loading them to the Job Manager. Same result as in the original post.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Dear customers,

Our developers are currently taking another look at this behavior.
We are trying to find a solution without compromising the current HDR RAW workflow.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

humanclock
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:40 pm
Scanner: Plustek 8200i
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby humanclock » Thu Feb 18, 2016 6:46 am

Is there an update on this? I have a giant project I cannot finish because of this bug.

I posted about this same problem on another thread but it was not approved (or didn't show up)

I have a large group of HDRi files that were scanned in by one set of employees that were later renamed (in regular windows explorer) over the last few months by researchers. SilverFast HDR is using the original (meaningless) name specified when they were scanned in.

Problem:
1) Image -> Scanmode -> file
2) Select a file (19960202_36a.tif)
3) Image -> Process
Resulting saved file is "scan0001.jpg"

"scan0001" is the value stored in the XMP Metadata field which is what SilverFast HDR is using. Does this mean we are stuck with "scan0001" forever and will have to manually rename this processed file back to its intended name every single time we wish to process it?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR job manager renames files

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Feb 25, 2016 1:37 pm

Dear customer,

we are planning to change this but unfortunately I do not have a date for that update yet.

Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.


Return to “HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests