HDR Job Manager question - export to jpeg?

SilverFast HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)

racecannon
Visitor
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:16 pm
Scanner: Epson 12000XL
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

HDR Job Manager question - export to jpeg?

Postby racecannon » Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:38 pm

I'm scanning family slides - thousands of them. And I'm new to Silverfast, so this is my workflow so far. Load slides in holder. Open Silverfast 8. Set Transparency and Kodachrome. Prescan. Find frames. Set scan resolution (3200dpi for ~80mb raw file). Set 48bit HDR raw. Enable Multi Exposure. Copy settings to all frames. Finally Batch Scan. It is my understanding that the end result will be raw files that I can work with later with HDR, like maybe when I don't have to be plugged into my scanner. If any improvements can be made to my settings and the workflow so far, please let me know now before I get too many slides done.

So here's where I'm confused... I'm glad Silverfast has all the settings, such as SDRx, AACO, color settings, etc... But I find a simple Auto CCR works wonderfully. If I need to dig deeper into a particular image, I can do so. But so far I haven't needed to. Since these are family pictures, I'd like to be able to share them as jpegs and at a reasonable file size. Clearly 80mb is too much and I can't send raw tiff files to people without getting a lot of questions about it. This is where I would like to see the Job Manager work. It seems I ought to be able to load say a thousand images in the job manager and tell the job manager to apply AutoCCR, then export each file to a jpeg at maybe 300dpi. Man that would be nice. But I can't figure out how to do it. Job Manager just throws out more tiff files. And sometimes AutoCCR is an available option and sometimes it's not.

Ideally I'd have two parallel directories. One would contain the HDR Raw tiff files. The other would contain a regular sized jpeg that has been AutoCCR'ed of each tiff. The help file and video for Job Manager isn't helpful.

Thank you

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR Job Manager question - export to jpeg?

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:33 pm

Dear user,

You can set the intended output file type in HDR Studio in the Image dimensions dialog.
Afterwards you can copy this through the JobManger by clicking the little blue copy icon in the source Job entry.
It is part of the scan dimensions settings.

If you want to change the size of the image itself you need to open the "lock" next to the resolution slider in HDR Studio.
You can then scale the image up or down.
This is copied through the resolution checkbox.
Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 14.25.34.png
Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 14.25.34.png (45.08 KiB) Viewed 483 times


Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “HDR Studio (48bit HDR processing)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest