MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

flatbed scanners for Epson

pgfitz
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:14 pm
Scanner: V700 Photo
SilverFast Product: SE
SilverFast Version: 6.6

MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby pgfitz » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:20 pm

Hello, Can you tell me if it is possible to manually control the focus of a V700 with Silver Fast and which version of the software do I need? I currently have 6.6 SE. Also which lens does Silver fast control on the V700 I heard that it will not engage the sharper of the of the two lenses on board, is this true? Cheers

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Morales » Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:52 am

dear pgfitz,

pgfitz wrote:Can you tell me if it is possible to manually control the focus of a V700 with Silver Fast and which version of the software do I need?

It is not possible to manually control the focus of the scanner. It has a very shallow depth of field and only two focusing positions.
pgfitz wrote:Also which lens does Silver fast control on the V700 I heard that it will not engage the sharper of the of the two lenses on board, is this true?

Absolutely not true, SilverFast uses both lenses. Under the "original" menu you will find the options "Transparency" and "Transparency full area", the former should be selected when using the film holders, the latter when scanning film material in direct contact with the glass surface. SilverFast SE has this two options.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

FredBGG
Visitor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:45 am
Scanner: Epson Precision 750
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby FredBGG » Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:39 pm

So does this mean that the focusing is determined by the full area or film holder area.

If so what happens if you want to scan 8x10 film wet mounted with the Epson wet mount film holder?
You would need the full scanning area to cover 8x10, but choosing that setting would set the focus to film holder
that is higher up.

LSI_Morales
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 1430
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:33 am

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Morales » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:50 am

Hi Fred,

FredBGG wrote:So does this mean that the focusing is determined by the full area or film holder area.


Correct, full area focuses on the glass surface of the scanner, transparency (not full area) focuses a couple of mm above the scan surface to fit the distance of the film holder.

FredBGG wrote:If so what happens if you want to scan 8x10 film wet mounted with the Epson wet mount film holder?
You would need the full scanning area to cover 8x10, but choosing that setting would set the focus to film holder
that is higher up.


If you check your fluid mount you will see there is a guide indicating the limits of the scanning area. This guides clearly show the scanning area is smaller than the glass surface, if you place something beyond those limits, obviously it can not be scanned.

Also the fluid mount glass is narrower than 8x10, probably you will have to place those films directly to the scan surface.

Cheers
Alejandro Morales

LaserSoft Imaging
Media manager, Software testing

degrub
SilverFast Master
SilverFast Master
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Texas

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby degrub » Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:17 am

i remember someone talking about direct wet mount on the Epson glass with some special tape and wet mount fluid for larger films. just can't put my finger on the url just yet.

ok here's one

http://www.photo-i.co.uk/BB/viewtopic.php?t=3107


Frank

jrtvintage
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:18 pm
Scanner: Epson Perfection v750
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby jrtvintage » Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:19 pm

Gentlemen, where is this in Silverfast Ai Studio 8? I need to find it and I cannot see the menus you are discussing.

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4214
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:31 pm

Dear customer,

are you talking about the transparency selection?
That is located in the upper left of the SilverFast 8 screen.
Bildschirmfoto 2013-07-16 um 17.30.45.png
Bildschirmfoto 2013-07-16 um 17.30.45.png (27.37 KiB) Viewed 7131 times


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

jrtvintage
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:18 pm
Scanner: Epson Perfection v750
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby jrtvintage » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:33 pm

No. I was already choosing 'transparency' instead of 'wide transparency', I was trying to figure out if there was some other focus control in Silverfast that would explain why scans are so soft.

Since i posted this I have been doing comparisons with the free Epson Scan utility, and I think there must be a fault in your silverfast software. My logic is as follows:

I am scanning 35mm film using epsons film strip holder.

When i scan using epsonscan, the software knows it is film and alters focus to account for the film holder being raised slightly from the glass. I get a sharp scan everytime. So it would seem my scanner itself is fine, and the epson software knows how to use its fixed focal lengths so i get sharp scans.

With silverfast I am manually selecting 'transparency' which I am told is what I am supposed to do for this scanner, but the scan is soft every time. as focus is fixed, there is nothing I can alter there, and it does not matter what else I alter (USM, resolution), the free epsonscan utility beats your software for sharpness everytime.

This seems very wrong, and somewhat distressing being as I paid handsomely for the v8 upgrade for compatability with my OS (v6 will not run on my OS) only to find that the free software is much better!

I have to assume that silverfast 8 is not correctly accounting for the raise from the glass created by the film strip holder. Being as silverfast is supposed to support this scanner (indeed an older version v6 is supplied with it) I find this very disappointing. Clearly it did factor the raise from the glass as well as the epson utility back in silverfast 6 or epson would not have bundled it. What can be done to restore this functionality please?
Attachments
silverf3200usm.jpg
scan using silverfast 8
silverf3200usm.jpg (70.28 KiB) Viewed 7110 times
epson3200usm.jpg
scan using epsons espon scan
epson3200usm.jpg (154.65 KiB) Viewed 7110 times

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4214
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Thu Jul 18, 2013 8:40 am

Dear customer,

No, the EPSON V750 has a fixed focus.
It can not adjust the focus.
The scanner can only switch between it's two lens systems.

The second image was probably software sharpened.
The resolution is not high enough to say for sure but that heavy grain looks like it results from a too strong sharpening filter.

You can also use software sharpening in SilverFast through the USM tool.


kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

vozimmer
Visitor
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:10 pm
Scanner: EPSON V700 Photo
SilverFast Product: SE Plus

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby vozimmer » Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:26 pm

LSI_Ketelhohn wrote:Dear customer,

are you talking about the transparency selection?
That is located in the upper left of the SilverFast 8 screen.
Bildschirmfoto 2013-07-16 um 17.30.45.png


kind regards,
Arne Kegelhohn.


Hallo,

at first, sorry for my bad english.

I have changed to SF8 and the Scans are not sharp since them. I scan positiv, direct from the glas of the scanner.
Idid not font the section for transparency. Where is it?

Regards Volker

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4214
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:15 pm

Dear Volker,

The selection is in the upper left corner, next to the Positive/Kodachrome/Negative selection button.
Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 15.14.49.png
Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 15.14.49.png (32.18 KiB) Viewed 2499 times


Kind regards,
Arne Ketelhohn.

Jochem
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:21 pm
Scanner: Epson v750 with wet mount
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby Jochem » Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:23 pm

What settings do I use for frame finding with Epson v750 with wet mount?

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4214
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:38 am

For wet mounted images you should use the wide area transparency and there the general frame finding.
The holder based frame finding is only used with the standard film holders.

Kind regards,
Arne

Jochem
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:21 pm
Scanner: Epson v750 with wet mount
SilverFast Product: Ai Studio

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby Jochem » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:20 pm

Unfortunately I have to tell you that the result is pathetic. i am using this: https://epson.com/listing?q=%3Arelevanc ... _onRefresh

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4214
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: MANUAL FOCUS WITH Epson V700

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:38 am

unfortunately the focus of the scanner itself can not be adjusted otherwise.

Have you checked if all other settings are correct? like high enough resolution, USM or any other tools that might adjust the image.


Kind regards,
Arne


Return to “Epson”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests