'SF8 has stopped working' problem

General topics about SilverFast

Moderator: LSI_Moeller


martinT
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:59 pm
Scanner: Plustek OpticFilm 8200i SE
SilverFast Product: SE

'SF8 has stopped working' problem

Postby martinT » Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:20 pm

I've been using SF8 on my Plustek OpticFilm 8200i SE scanner since early November& have scanned about 300 slides & B/W negatives. Yesterday afternoon I got a 'SilverFast 8 has stopped working' message. I un/reinstalled SF from the disk supplied with the Plustek but when I ran SF I got the same error message. I've down loaded your SF Support Tool & tried to run that - but it failed with a 'msvcp140.dll not found' message. After investigating I found that there is a file msvcp140.dll in my c:\Windows\SysWOW64 folder.

How do I solve this problem? I'm running SF 8.8.0r5 on Windows 7, (64bit)
Thanks
Martin

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: 'SF8 has stopped working' problem

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Mon Jan 08, 2018 10:41 am

Dear Martin,

The msvcp140.dll is part of the Windows operating system and included in the Windows Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable. Maybe this component has been damaged. Try reinstalling it. You can download it here from the Microsoft website.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=52685

Kind regards
Arne

martinT
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:59 pm
Scanner: Plustek OpticFilm 8200i SE
SilverFast Product: SE

Re: 'SF8 has stopped working' problem

Postby martinT » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:03 pm

Thanks Arne,
I've reinstalled the Windows Visual C++ library & can now run the SF Support Tool. However when I do so I get 'SF failed to transfer the required data. Contact our support staff'. What next?

Martin

User avatar
LSI_Ketelhohn
LSI Staff
LSI Staff
Posts: 4265
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:19 am
Scanner: all
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: 'SF8 has stopped working' problem

Postby LSI_Ketelhohn » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:31 pm

Dear Martin,

Have you checked your internet connection and Firewall settings?
This message means that the tool is being blocked from accessing the support server.

Kind regards
Arne


Return to “About SilverFast”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests